He was a fiscal analyst at the U S Bureau of the Budget, 1945-46, was in the Marshall Plan Mission to Denmark 1948-49, the European Office of the Marshall Plan, Paris, 1949-50, the White House Foreign Policy Staff, 1950-51, and the Executive Office of the President (foreign aid programs), 1951-53.

His main theoretical interests have been bargaining, conflict and cooperation, racial segregation, and techniques of self-management. His main policy interests have been nuclear weapons, the limitation of war, climate change, foreign aid, and nicotine.

His major books are The Strategy of Conflict 1960, Strategy and Arms Control (with Morton H. Halperin) 1961, Arms and Influence 1966, Choice and Consequence, 1984, and Micromotives and Macrobehavior, 1978. His latest book is Strategies of Commitment and Other Essays 2006.

He has been elected to the National Academy of Sciences, the Institute of Medicine, and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and is the recipient of the Frank E. Seidman Distinguished Award in Political Economy and the National Academy of Sciences Award for Behavioral Research Relevant to the Prevention of Nuclear War. In 2005 he received, jointly with Robert Aumann, the Bank of Sweden Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel.


This ground-breaking conference was started in 2008 as the first Harvard-wide conference organized by students on the topic of negotiations. Since then the conference continues to take an innovative and practical look at issues that are either under-studied or otherwise that are trends shaping the field of negotiations. By combining discussion on such issues with leading scholars and practitioners from business, law, government and academia, this event provides a platform for those looking to significantly enhance their intellectual foundation and practical skills.

Location Map